Getting Dressed

Getting dressed in the morning is really hard. Normally, I’d just look out my window, or check out my weather app to see what the weather will be like during the day but unfotunately the process recently has become much more diffficult than just this. I’m in part to blame, as I’m travelling between so many different places in one day, but I now need to accomodate to dramatic differences in the internal temperatures of the places I inhabit.

This means that working in the city will often require wearing layers, as even if the weather is pleasent, or warm outside, it will still be boiling inside and I’ll have to accomodate frequently and quickly. Plus, as I”ve mentioned earlier, the bus ride home is freezing and will no doubt require a jumper for any time I travel that is not in the middle of the day.

Uni, unfortunately, is even more complicated than this. I think to think through every single space that I’ll travel through; Monday’s require me to be in a classroom that perpetually has 4 air conditioners running until 8pm so it becomes freezing by the time I leave; Wednesday’s require me to switch between 2 building, one of which involves walking up 3 flights of stairs (into an extremely smelly room, but perhaps this is a story for another time), so this involves me being able to stay warm in the lecture, then taking off layers to cool myself as I climb stairs; Thursdays’ class is at night, finishing at 9pm (involving 5 flights of stairs – warm verging on hot again) and again transfering buildings half way.

Then I’ll often either come early, or stay late and this impacts what I’ll wear as well: if I stay in the Red Centre at uni I’ll need a scarf, or something else to cover my  neck, because the breeze in the personal study spaces is incredibly strong, leaving me cold even on a warm day.

I think the moral I’m trying to tell is that internal temperatures need to be regulated better, and be as close to the external temperatures a spossible while still being comfortable for the majority. I believe this is important because it will reduce energy use and therefore costs and output. I hardly need to mention the importance of reducing energy use in the climate we’re currently living in.

Just a thought that impacts our everyday, that I personally find to be quite inconvenient.

Leave a comment