Sydney, a “global city”

So as someone who has only recently moved from Melbourne to Sydney, I was generally expecting to be moving from one expensive city to the next. My head’s not in the sand, however, and I am well aware that Sydney will be more expensive than Melbourne but I believed myself to be very well equipped to handle that.

As it turns out, I am but only just, and only because I’m very careful with my money, have very limited expenses apart from food and rent and I have a fairly high earning potential, even if this does mean I’m working maybe a little bit more than I’d like to (but really, aren’t we all?)

The article below highlights how apparently I’m “living the dream”, simply by being able to afford to live in the “almost” inner city (I’m about 20 minutes from central by bus). This “dream” is getting further and further away for many people, as the skyrocketing prices of house ownership and rent continue to soar due to a lack of “government-mandated provision of affordable housing in inner- and middle-ring areas.”

How the Baird government failed to make developers work for their millions

This contrasts with New York now, as “Mayor Bill de Blasio’s City Council passed a policy on “mandatory inclusionary zoning””. This does not make Sydney as liveable, or as habitable as it see’s itself. It is pushing out more and more people, and reducing the quality of life of those living within the city. It reduces the equality in the area and favours on type of person or family over another which I think reduces it’s overall capacity for a more socially cohesive and educated society with a wider understander of other cultures.

To me, this feels like a step backwards, and a step away from being a “global city”.

Leave a comment